Uncategorized

Meet Jackie Shapiro of French Bull

Jackie Shapiro
FBToday I had the opportunity to interview someone very special.  I am more than delighted to present to you the one and only Jackie Shapiro of French Bull and designer of Windham Fabrics new collection Shadow Flower!


Q: What was your inspiration for the Shadow Flower collection?

A: Wonderland meets 19th century silhouette art – I love collage and juxtaposing.  Cross-referencing diverse origins with iconic revolutions in pop culture is a running theme for me.  This collection is full of splashing color-play and floral fantasy that transforms the mundane with distinctive pattern.

 

Q: Can you tell us about all the different products under the French Bull Label?

A: We’re a lifestyle brand devoted to creating exciting new uses for color and pattern. I like the non precious becoming precious and visa versa. We manufacture and import several product lines that include house-ware items like carbon steel kitchen knives, cushion floor mats for the kitchen, and ceramic eco friendly travel mugs  all cloaked in pattern. The brand has partnered with a broad range of like-minded manufacturers to expand our constantly growing vision with laptop covers, lunch bags, beverage carriers, wall art, Beach towels, flip flops, wall paper, slippers and stationery. We believe in updating the overlooked and work to make the ordinary extraordinary.

 

Q: How would you describe your personal design style? 

A: I go pretty high end, and way low when it comes to personal style from clothes, accessories, cars, and things for my home.I'm most comfortable when I manage to strike the perfect personal style note, between the two.

• Favorite brand for boots - Manolo Blanik 3/4 flat boot. They're timeless, always right, and totally worth the investment because you never have to worry that your shoes are dated.

• Favorite T shirt store – Wal-Mart boys department – they have the best licensed character tees. I have a special occasion one that's a glitter Ironman T that I covet. $6.99 100% cotton – Levis & Adrianno Goldschmidt for jeans.  Thrift shops for leather jackets, and sunglasses. Wal-Mart for steel heal rain boots, B&B Italia for furniture is on my wish list.

 

Q: What is your favorite part of the design process?

A: Reinventing my inspiration reference.

 

Q: When working on a new project, what are some of the biggest challenges you face?

A: Manufacturing and the cost of goods we purchase.

 

Q: What are your favorite colors to work with?

A: I love what happens to colors in context so it’s a challenging question. I often use many colors in my work, and it’s all about relationships. But some of my favorites to use are. Pantone Warm RedC  232C & 383C, 402C & 403C.  As an aside, I’m crazy for the color ultra violet, but can’t seem to capture that black light glow in print.

 

Q: What one thing that has happened in your life has made the biggest impact on your career and who you are today?

A: Living and working in Italy after graduating from Parsons.

 

Q: If you could have dinner with one famous person who would it be and why?

A: Joan Jett – I like her attitude.

 

Q: If you could be a superhero what would your superpower be?

A: My super power would be immediate transport. Transportation seems old fashioned, and what a time suck. I know people say it’s all about the journey, but I’d rather spend the time getting anywhere to do other stuff.

 

Q: Where do you see yourself in 5 yrs?

A: Scared to answer if I totally blow it.  But, I sincerely wish, hope and work every day towards having French Bull be recognized globally. To have the people I work with very closely reap the rewards of our hard work and commitment. This would make me very happy.

Shadow Flower is Jackie Shapiro’s newest collection for Windham Fabrics! This fabulous collection will bedazzle you with its bright colors and sundial patterns. Shadow Flower is a fun, hip group with its playful mix of color and design.  Check out the complete collection at www.windamfabrics.com. Also, be sure to read the French Bull blog and find out the latest new with Jackie!

Swatches of shadow flower
Shadow flower quilt

Field of Flowers

Size: 48 ½" X 60 ½"

By Jean Katherine Smith

Free Project

Standard

4 thoughts on “Meet Jackie Shapiro of French Bull

Join the Discussion!

