Uncategorized

Happy Valentine’s Day

Coming up with Valentine’s Day gifts and activities can sometime be a challenge,so I decided to share my plans for the holiday!

This year I am making the most perfect vanilla Valentine’s Day cupcakes for all the special people in my life. 

Perfect Vanilla Cupcakes

Recipe by Glorious Treats

Yields- 15-16 cupcakes

 

Ingredients

1 1/4 cups cake flour

1 1/4 teaspoons baking powder

1/2 teaspoon baking soda

1/2 teaspoon salt

2 eggs

3/4 cup sugar

1 1/2 teaspoons pure vanilla extract

1/2 cup oil (vegetable, canola or extra light olive oil)

1/2 cup buttermilk

 

 

Directions 

Preheat oven to 350*F

FlourIn a medium bowl, add cake flour, baking powder, baking soda and salt.

Stir together with whisk.

EggAdd eggs and beat 10-20 seconds. 

Add sugar and continue to beat on medium speed about 30 seconds.

Add vanilla and oil, beat.

Mix
Reduce mixer speed to low. Add the buttermilk. Beat until combined.

Fill cupcakes 2The batter will be thin.  

Pour batter into a muffin pan prepared with paper liners. 

Fill liners about 2/3 full. 

OvenBake cupcakes in pre-heated oven for 12-14 minutes.

Cooling
Cool in pan 1-2 minutes, then remove cupcakes from pan (carefully) and finish cooling.

Me gfinal
Frost as desired when fully cooled and give to loved one!

FinalPresent your Valentine Day cupcakes in the perfect setting!!

Above finalMake the ideal Valentine’s Day placemats and napkins with Windham Fabrics Basic Brights heart fabric. Set the right scene for your loved ones and throw in a rose to finesse your table setting!!

Rose
I asked some of our very own Windham Fabrics designers what their plans are for the special day!  Here is what they came up with:

Jeanne Horton– Designer of American Spirit, Simpler Tymes ,Worn and Loved

This year I will be doing something fun.  My grandchildren will be coming over the weekend and we will be making Sugar Heart Valentine shaped cookies.  They range in age from 2 -16 and all get along with each other.  I got the idea from a dear friend of mine Alma Allen who is fabric designer too.  This idea is shared on her blog spot along with the recipe.  Here is the twist; you know how when you bake cookies in a particular shape and many times when they come out of the oven they really aren't the shape you started with.  Take your cutter and re-cut the baked cookie and now you have "Cookie Fries", genius idea!  You frost them put them in a glassine bag and big and little kids have a really fun Valentine Treat.  Now go back to your original cookie and frost, here is the other twist.  Cut a template of the cutter out of quilter’s templastic punch holes in the template frosts with the frosting you paint on with a little paint brush and make your design with your colored sugars or other neat decorative pariels available in stores.  I think it is worth exploring and I know you will all enjoy this great treat.

Lotta Jansdotter– Designer of The Premier Collection by Lotta Jansdotter

I plan to make a real good dinner for my 2 favorite boys: my husband and my boy August.I do not plan to make a thing…I will make an experience that we can share together..and we all love yummy food.

Melissa Strader of Iza Pearl Designs– Designer of Cabana Blooms

Matt, my husband, and I are both the most UN-romantic people on this planet and hardly acknowledge Valentine's Day…don't get me wrong I do love chocolate and flowers, but totally happy with just a hug. He feels the same way…so just one of the bazillion reasons we're a good match!  We did feel sorry for our lonely Cabana Bloom blue floral hippo on our shelf and thought that he could use a Valentine in his life.  So, yesterday, we made him a girlfriend out of the Cabana Bloom pink floral.  Let me tell ya, she's a hottie!  :)

Vday Hippos

Paul Meisel- Designer of The Three Bears

I usually just buy my wife a box of chocolates as her birthday is the next day- that's the day I need to take a little more seriously!

Rosemarie Lavin of Rosemarie Lavin DesignsBerkshire Flannels, Breeze, Divine, Fleur Noir, Mistletoe, Tis the Season

For Valentine’s Day my family and I make a home cooked meal together. I'm thinking shrimp cocktail and herb crusted salmon. Sweet wishes to everyone.

Colonial WilliamsburgChesapeake, Heart of a Nation

Celebrate with food and wine and a romantic dinner with flickering candlelight. Stay on site at the Williamsburg Lodge where you can sweeten your weekend with special programs and pairings of chocolate, coffee and cognac or surprise someone with one of our signature spa treatments. http://www.colonialwilliamsburg.com/visit/eventsAndExhibits/specialEvents/valentinesDay.cfm

Brian Haggard New designer at Windham, collection coming soon!!

I think a love letter printed on a sheet of 8 ½ by 11 fabric on the computer would mean more than a hallmark card from the corner store, and on the reverse side a picture of my one and only with my hand embroidery. I hope this helps, it sure made me think now I must go make mine. Heartfelt thanks to you for making me give it some thought.

 

Leave a comment and tell us what your plans are this year for Valentine’s Day!!

Standard

2 thoughts on “Happy Valentine’s Day

Join the Discussion!

