Uncategorized

Gabrielle by Mary Koval

Today I had the opportunity to interview Mary Koval and ask her some questions about her newest collection, Gabrielle which is due in stores this monthBe sure to head over to your LQS and pick some up! 


Gabrielle_Cover FINAL copy
Q: What was your inspiration for this collection? 

A: My inspiration for the Gabrielle collection was the main print. When I found it, I was so in love with the
print. It was perfect in color and in design and I didn't have to change anything.
I have lots of fabrics but when I saw it I knew it said Mary Koval and when I
showed it to Windham they said the same thing…"This is so Mary Koval". I knew I
had to do it.

The fabrics are from 1870 and the colors are so perfect for
today's quilts. Every design and color was chosen to make a wonderful quilt.
The quilt sample is one that I had on my bed many years ago and it also had
birds on the fabric. Not the same fabric but the same style and size of birds.

36428-2 Cream-MAIN PATTERN  
36428-3 Blue-MAIN PATTERN

Q: What is the hardest part of designing fabric?

A: I think I would have to say scaling down a collection. We
start with everything we think we want and need. We do art work in as many
colors as we think could be used and then we must choice what has to go and
what will stay. I would say that is the hardest part. The prints and colors are
all so wonderful how do you choose? It takes time to choose. It is important to
have just the right combination to make quilts. Lights, darks, medium color and
prints in different sizes. That takes a
lot of discipline and some one telling you you need to scale it back. In the
end, it is always perfect and we are all happy with the choices.

Q: What is something you want people to know about you?

A: Well most people think I only like reproduction fabrics
and I do, but I love all fabrics no matter the age. If you follow my Facebook
page
  you will see that I share lots of bright quilts and 1930's quilts. What I
love about quilts are the design and how the person used the fabrics. I do like it when I see quilts that are made well and one of a
kind.

Q: What do you do with your free time?


A:
Well who has free time? Lol! I have a Quilt Store, I do
quilt shows all over the world; Japan, France, Australia and the USA . I
design fabrics, design quilts, and make samples. And I have grandchildren I
like to spend time with.  I guess I would
have to say travel. When we do shows we are traveling, when I design I travel
to Windham Fabrics, and when I see my grandchildren I must travel to see them since they
don't live near me.

 
Kit cover

Photo (21)

Sewing Tool Case
Pin cushion

Pin Cushion
Wall hanging

Wall Hanging
Tissue case

Tissue Case

 Starting Tuesday, June 25th until Sunday, June 30th enter in a chance to win a Fat Quarter bundle of Gabrielle.  

All you have to do is leave a
comment below on our blog telling us what you would make with the Gabrielle fabric collection. 

Prize winner will be selected by a
random drawing. Check our Facebook page on Monday, July 1st to see if you are the winner.

To find out about more giveaways and
contests, become a fan of Windham Fabrics on Facebook

Click here to view Gabrielle by Mary Koval

Bundle

Standard

99 thoughts on “Gabrielle by Mary Koval

  1. Deb Berkebile says:

    I have some other fabric that would go divinely with this collection…I could make a really nice queen size quilt! Love the colors!

  2. Kathryn Phillips says:

    I would make a quilt for my mom. She is always making wall hangings, quilts, or stuffed animals for myself and my siblings and all her grandchildren. I’d like to recognize that by giving back to her. She’s the reason that I have my love of quilting. šŸ™‚

  3. Deborah DeBerry says:

    As a relative new quilter, I haven’t tried many patterns. This collection is so elegant looking, I would have to do some pattern searching to find just the perfect one to use. There are many!! Thanks for the chance to win this beautiful fabric!

  4. Janet Frank says:

    I’d make a quilt for my grand-daughter, who will be a mother for the first time in September! Yippee! I’m going to be a Great Grandmother!!!

  5. Patty Swatzell says:

    I love all the fabrics and can see a beautiful Log Cabin Quilt. Very Elegant
    I would frame the Panel.

  6. Darlene Krystal says:

    the fabric would be great for a miniature star block pattern…small florals…have a great quilting day..

  7. Melanie Day says:

    Lovely fabrics – I adore the color combination! I can see them becoming matching purses for my mom and I!

  8. Rochelle Hunt-Roy says:

    Love the fabric, would make table runners or pillows. Beautiful as an accent fabric in a larger quilt.

  9. i’d feed my hexie adiction, cutting several sizes for several projects and then work up some small project kits to make up later for gifting. love, love, love collection bundles; they all go together so nicely! thanx for the chance to win this fabulous fabric.

  10. Linda Seigler says:

    I absolutely love the fabric. I would use it in my living room/dining room. A table runner for sure or for a throw. Love the colors and patterns.

  11. Dea Lowry says:

    I am learning to do log cabin quilts. I have been quilting since 1970, but have only done ONE log cabin. I think this collection would be perfect for my next log cabin project.

  12. I love the bird in the floral print I would love to use it for the center of a medallion. I would add all the fabrics to the many scrap quilts I make. Thanks
    Kathie

  13. Elizabeth Tallau says:

    Those fabrics are so soothing. I’d love to make a quilt to snuggle under after a tough day. Or anytime, actually! šŸ™‚

  14. This collection has a very feminine and formal feel to it, so I think it would produce an excellent setting for the right quilted pet portrait for just the right person. I can see the grey/blue tones and florals working perfectly with a white Maltese or a grey Poodle, while the stronger red/coral tones would highlight the glossy black coat of a Schipperke.
    But then, who could resist a quilted Kitten set in a border with those birds around the flowered border? I just might need to start sketching the first cat quilt right away!

  15. lindawwww says:

    Gabrielle is a beautiful fabric collection. I’d make a table runner for my dining room table and coasters to match.

  16. Karrie Smith says:

    I would love to use it in a quilt or a wall hanging! Thanks for the chance to win! The fabric is so pretty.

  17. maria wiegel says:

    I would make a lap quilt and pillows for my living room.These materials coordinate very well with the color scheme in there.Love the colors and fabrics in this collection.Glad I found this article so I can start following Mary and her line of fabrics.

  18. margaret Schindler says:

    I love that sewing caddy and I really need one bad so I would make me one with a matching sewing machine cover.

  19. Natalie says:

    I have been waiting for this fabric collection ever since I saw it on my screen.
    I would love to use it to make gorgeous coordinated scissor case, needlecase, pincushion… and then nestle them in a quilter’s basket ! Wouldn’t it be most lovely ?

Join the Discussion!

