Uncategorized

Lucky projects by A Quilter’s Table

We are so excited to have Debbie Jeske from A Quilter's Table here today to talk about how she was inspired to use the new collection Lucky by Lotta Jansdotter.

                        *********************************

I knew when I got home from QuiltCon that I wanted to make the Double Scissor Keeper from Krista Hennebury's book, Make It, Take It: 16 Cute and Clever Projects to Sew with Friends. The pattern by Amy Friend/During Quiet Time is so clever, and I knew it would be a great gift idea for my quilting buddies. It was fortuitous that I had just received a bundle of Lucky by Lotta Jansdotter from Windham Fabrics, perfect for mixing and matching when making several. This line is a colorful mix of prints inspired by a trip Lotta made to India, and it was fun choosing how to pair them up.

IMG_3245ecr640
 

Lucky for me, I had plenty of fabric to keep sewing, and with Krista's book still on my cutting table, I decided to try the Crafter's Retreat Apron by Krista Fleckenstein/Spotted Stones. I'd never had a craft apron and wondered how I'd like working with one, plus it simply looked fun to make. And it was! A little fussy cutting made easy work of making those cats the focus, and the bright Caribbean blue print (probably my favorite in the collection) made a perfect accent. Later, I found out that cat actually is a leopard, and he has a name! So Jerry, welcome to my studio!

 

IMG_3789ecr640

Lastly, wanting to use as many of the Lucky prints as possible, I just couldn't resist making the Little Patchwork Tote by Ayumi Takahashi/Pink Penguin. I wasn't totally sure how the big spots or "moons" would work lined up together, but as you can see – delightfully.

IMG_3797ecr640

 

You can check out all the fabrics in the Lucky line right here, as well as in the Lookbook. Thanks, Windham, for letting me take a little journey to a far-off place, fabric-style!

Standard

2 thoughts on “Lucky projects by A Quilter’s Table

  1. Diane Beavers says:

    Oh my goodness I’m gushing over the Lucky lotus pattern, Jerry the Leopard and the full moon!
    THank you Lotta Jansdotter, this collection is so me:)
    Ayumi’s bag is a staple. Have a niece taking her first international trip this summer and “Auntie” should probably sew that bag for her. Best of all she loves anything in the Cat family so Jerry would be lovely hanging on her shoulder:) I’ve got to buy that Make it Take it book.
    Thank you WIndham.

Join the Discussion!

